Specialty Council on Nutrition Support Pharmacy

2020 Members

Michael Christensen, PharmD, BCNSP, FPPAG {Chair}
2015Nutrition_ChristensenChristensen is the Stevens Professor of Clinical Pharmacy and Pediatrics at the University of Tennessee and Director of Pharmacy at LeBonheur Children’s Medical Center in Memphis, TN. He received his Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy from North Dakota State University and PharmD from the University of Tennessee. He completed a residency in pediatric pharmacotherapy at LeBonheur Children’s Medical Center and a fellowship in pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics at St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. His research interests include pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic studies of drugs in infants and children as well as the metabolic and nutrient requirements in infants.

Vanessa J. Kumpf, PharmD, BCNSP {Vice Chair}

Kumpf is a Nutrition Support Pharmacy Specialist at the Center for Human Nutrition at Vanderbilt Medical Center in Nashville, Tennessee. She received her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from Creighton University in Omaha, Nebraska. Kumpf completed a Clinical Pharmacy Residency at Truman Medical Center, University of Missouri-Kansas City and a Nutrition Support Specialty Residency at Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston. She previously served as a member of the BPS Nutrition Support Pharmacy Practice Specialty Council from 1993 to 1998. Her current practice area is focused on home parenteral nutrition patients.

Angela L. Bingham, PharmD, BCPS, BCNSP, BCCCP

Bingham is an Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy at the University of the Sciences – Philadelphia College of Pharmacy in Philadelphia, PA. She practices as a Critical Care/Nutrition Support Specialist at Cooper University Hospital in Camden, NJ and serves as the Program Director for the PGY2 Critical Care Pharmacy Residency Program. After receiving her PharmD from the South Carolina College of Pharmacy, she completed a PGY1 Residency at The Johns Hopkins Hospital and PGY2 Critical Care Pharmacy Residency at The University of Tennessee Health Science Center/The Regional Medical Center at Memphis. Her interests include nutrition support in critically ill patients and parenteral nutrition safety.

Todd Canada, PharmD, BCNSP, FASHP, FTSHP
Todd CanadaCanada is a Clinical Pharmacy Services Manager and Nutrition Support Team Coordinator at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Division of Pharmacy in Houston, Texas. He earned a Bachelor of Science degree in pharmacy from the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center and a post-baccalaureate Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. He completed a specialized residency in critical care and nutrition support at the University of Tennessee—Memphis and is Board certified in nutrition support and critical care.

Karrie Derenski PharmD, BCNSP, CNSC
Derenski is a Clinical Pharmacy Supervisor, Coordinator and Clinical Pharmacist for the Metabolic Support Service, and PGY2 Critical Care Residency Director at CoxHealth in Springfield Missouri. She received her Doctor of Pharmacy from University of Missouri – Kansas City and Nutrition Support Specialty Residency training at University of Colorado Health Sciences Center. Her areas of interest include promotion of standardized competencies for parenteral nutrition, fluid and electrolyte management and multidisciplinary team management of nutrition support.

Katayoon Kathy Ghomeshi, PharmD, MBA, BCPS, CPPS

Katayoon Kathy Ghomeshi, PharmD, MBA, BCPS, CPPS is a Medication Safety Officer at UCSF Medical Center and Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor at UCSF School of Pharmacy. She also is the Residency Coordinator and primary preceptor for the PGY2 in Medication-Use Safety and led in developing the program at UCSF Medical Center.

Dr. Ghomeshi completed a PGY2 Medication-Use Safety Residency at the Johns Hopkins Hospital. During her residency, she trained at the Institute for Safe Medication Practices and the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. Prior to that, she completed a PGY1 Managed Care Pharmacy Residency at Kaiser Permanente. Dr. Ghomeshi earned her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy in Baltimore, Maryland. She completed a Master of Business Administration from the University of Baltimore/Towson University. She holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Neurobiology, Physiology, and Behavior from the University of California, Davis.

Karl Gumpper, RPh, BCPS

Gumpper is the Pharmacy Informatics Manager for Boston Children’s Hospital. He leads a team with responsibility for all aspects of pharmacy informatics, technology, and automation for the institution. He received his BS in Pharmacy in 1991 from Northeastern University and a Masters in Medical Informatics from Northwestern University in 2015. He is a Certified Professional in Health Information and Management Systems and a Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist. He was a Board Certified Nutrition Support Pharmacist from 1995 to 2009. He has worked at Children’s National Medical Center and University of Maryland in Baltimore before becoming the first Director of the Section of Pharmacy Informatics and Technology at ASHP.

Maria Sheridan, PharmD, BCNSP
NUT_SheridanSheridan is a Medical Science Liaison, Medical Affairs at Fresenius Kabi, where she focuses on parenteral nutrition education and safety. Her other clinical experiences include being a Nutrition Support Pharmacist at Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, where she was also appointed as Instructor of Pharmacy, and Internal Medicine Clinical Specialist at St. Mary’s Hospital, Bon Secours Health System in Richmond, VA. She received her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and completed a PGY1 pharmacy residency at the Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Florida. Sheridan served as President of the Florida Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition and Chair of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy GI/Liver/Nutrition Practice and Research Network, where she is currently Secretary/Treasurer and incoming Chair-Elect.