Specialty Council on Infectious Diseases Pharmacy

2022 Members

Jennifer Girotto PharmD, BCPPS, BCIDP {Chair}
IFD_GirottoGirotto is a Clinical Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice and Pediatrics at the University of Connecticut. Her clinical practice site is at Connecticut Children’s Medical Center, where she is the Co-Director of the antimicrobial stewardship program and Program Director of the PGY2 infectious diseases pharmacy residency program. She completed her Doctor of Pharmacy at the University of Connecticut and completed an ASHP accredited specialty residency in pediatrics at Children’s Hospital in Boston. Her interests include optimizing PK/PD in pediatric patients, antimicrobial stewardship and immunizations.

Curtis Collins, PharmD, MS, BCPS-AQ ID, BCIDP, FASHP {Vice Chair}
CollinsCollins is a Clinical Pharmacy Specialist in Infectious Diseases at St. Joseph Mercy Health System in Ann Arbor, MI. He received his Doctor of Pharmacy from Drake University, and completed a PGY2 residency and obtained a MS in Health-Systems Pharmacy Administration from The Ohio State University. His professional interests include antimicrobial stewardship, quality improvement, and pharmacoeconomics.

Melissa E. Badowski, PharmD, MPH, BCIDP, BCPS, AAHIVP, FIDSA, FCCP
Dr. Badowski is a Clinical Associate Professor in the Section of Infectious Diseases Pharmacotherapy at the University of Illinois at Chicago, College of Pharmacy. She is dual certified in both Pharmacotherapy and Infectious Diseases. Dr. Badowski provides HIV/ID care to inmates living with HIV via telemedicine as well as in the outpatient setting at the University of Illinois Hospital and Health Sciences System.

Sean Cosgriff, PharmD, BCOP
Cosgriff is Oncology Clinical Pharmacy Specialist at the VA Portland Health Care System in Portland, Oregon. He graduated from Oregon State University with a Bachelor of Science degree in Pharmacy, and earned a Doctor of Pharmacy degree from Duquesne University. Dr. Cosgriff completed an oncology pharmacy specialty residency at the University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute. He currently holds adjunct faculty appointments at Oregon State University and Pacific University. He previously served two terms on the Oncology Pharmacy Specialty Council, and served as chair of this council in 2019.

Fiona Doukas, BPharm, MPH, FSHPA
Fiona Doukas has experience in establishing and maintaining Antimicrobial Stewardship programs, medication safety, and developing national clinical care standards. In 2020, she updated the national Antimicrobial Stewardship Clinical Care Standard used by all Australian health service organisations.

After completing a Bachelor of Pharmacy and a Master of Public Health (Infectious Diseases Epidemiology & Control), Fiona enrolled as a PhD candidate at the University of Sydney. Her thesis is evaluating the impact of interventions in hospital antimicrobial stewardship programs. Fiona is currently appointed to the FIP Commission on Antimicrobial Resistance, and the SHPA Infectious Diseases Leadership Committee.

Conan MacDougall, PharmD, BCPS, BCIDP
CMacDougalMacDougall is Professor of Clinical Pharmacy at the University of California San Francisco School of Pharmacy. He provides clinical service to the Infectious Diseases Consult and Antimicrobial Stewardship teams at UCSF Medical Center. His research and reviews have been published in Clinical Infectious Diseases, Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy, Clinical Microbiology Reviews, Emerging Infectious Diseases, Archives of Internal Medicine, American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education, and Pharmacotherapy. He is co-author of Antibiotics Simplified, and chapter author in Goodman & Gilman’s The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases, and Emergency Management of Infectious Diseases.

Kathryn G. Merkel, PharmD, BCPS, BCPPS, BCIDP
IFD_MerkelMerkel is a Clinical Pharmacy Manager at St. David’s South Austin Medical Center in Austin, Texas practicing previously as a Pediatric Infectious Diseases Clinical Pharmacy Specialist at Dell Children’s Medical Center for six years. She earned her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and then went on to complete a PGY1 pharmacy practice residency and PGY2 infectious diseases residency at Indiana University Health. Her interests include antimicrobial stewardship, quality/process improvement, and education of the public on antimicrobial resistance.

Steve Mok, PharmD, BCIDP, BCPS
Steve MokMok is Clinical Program Manager, Clinical Surveillance and Compliance and Program Director of the Fellowship in Health Outcomes and Analytics at Wolters Kluwer, Health. He received his Doctor of Pharmacy from the University of Pittsburgh and completed his Infectious Diseases residency at the Bay Pines VA Healthcare System in St Petersburg, Florida. His current practice focuses on using advanced technologies such as artificial intelligence and machine learning to identify patients at high risk for epidemiologically significant infection or drug resistant organisms and helping pharmacists optimize antimicrobial stewardship practices with real time clinical analytics tools.

Radhika S. Polisetty, PharmD, BCIDP, BCPS-AQ ID, AAHIVP
Radhika PolisettyPolisetty is an Associate Professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice at Midwestern University Chicago College of Pharmacy and Clinical Specialist, Infectious Diseases at Northwestern Medicine Central DuPage Hospital in Winfield, IL. Dr. Polisetty is a graduate of the University Of Kentucky College of Pharmacy and went on to complete a PGY1 Pharmacy Practice Residency and a PGY 2 Infectious Diseases Residency at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center in Pittsburgh, PA. Dr. Polisetty’s primary area of focus is managing an Antibiotic Stewardship Program and conduct research optimizing antimicrobial utilization in a community setting.