BPS Staff

William M. Ellis MS, RPh
Executive Director

William M. Ellis MS, RPh was named Executive Director of BPS in 2011. From 1997-2011, Mr. Ellis served as CEO and Executive Director of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Foundation. He was the Executive Vice President for the Pennsylvania Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists from 1986-1997.

Mr. Ellis also served as the elected Chair of the Council on Credentialing in Pharmacy (CCP) from 2012-2015; CCP provides leadership, guidance, public information, and coordination for the profession of pharmacy’s credentialing programs. In 2014, he was appointed a commissioner to the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) and was elected as the 2016 Chairman. The NCCA helps to ensure the health, welfare, and safety of the public through the accreditation of a variety of individual certification programs that assess professional competency. The NCCA is an administratively independent resource recognized as the authority on accreditation standards for professional certification programs.

After receiving his pharmacy degree from the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy (PCP), where he currently serves as the chair of the College’s Board of Visitors. Mr. Ellis completed an executive residency with the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists in 1986 and earned his Master of Science degree in health education from Saint Joseph’s University in Philadelphia in 1994.

Download PDF Version

Samuel G. Johnson, PharmD, BCPS
Associate Executive Director

Prior to joining BPS in 2017, Dr. Johnson served as the Director of Health Policy and Interprofessional Affairs for the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP). In that position, he was responsible for leading the work of ACCP in analyzing, developing, implementing, and promoting policies and programs, to advance clinical pharmacy and its practitioners in progressive health care delivery systems at the national level.

Dr. Johnson received his Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in Biology from Truman State University in Kirksville, MO and his Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Missouri — Kansas City (UMKC) School of Pharmacy in Kansas City, MO.

He also completed a Specialty Residency in Cardiology with the Kaiser Permanente Colorado Region in Denver, CO. He holds BPS Board Certification in Pharmacotherapy and previously held BPS Added Qualifications (AQ) in Cardiology. In 2012 he was selected as the inaugural National Academy of Medicine (NAM, formerly IOM) Anniversary Fellow in Pharmacy, where he contributed to the work of the Consensus Committee on Core Metrics for Better Health at Lower Cost and the Roundtable on Translating Genomic-based Research for Health.

Download PDF Version

Our Staff

Thomas R. Clark, RPh, MHS, BCGP
Senior Director, Geriatric Certification

Jacquelyn Kelly Marshall, MBA
Director for Certification

Brian Lawson, PharmD
Director, Professional Affairs

Avis D. Bullard, MS, CSSGB
Director, Quality Assurance

Anjali Weber, MS
Director, Psychometric and Testing Services

Timothy Muckle, PhD
Senior Psychometrician

Siddiq Kassam, MS
Certification Exam Developer

Ernest Wright
Senior Manager Operations

Lynn M. Gardner
Certification Manager

Christie Vu, PharmD, MBA
Specialty Council Committee Manager

Lulu H. Mziray, MBA-HM
Recertification Manager

Tonomi Marbley

Joseph Sproull
Web and Social Media Coordinator

Legal Counsel

Steven P. Benson, Esq.
Whiteford, Taylor & Preston