Share this:

Board of Pharmacy Specialties Announces 2022 Officers

Marianne F. Ivey, PharmD, MPH, FASHP to Serve as 2022 BPS Chair

Ruth E. Nemire, PharmD, EdD, FCCP, FNAP, CRQM to Serve as BPS Chair-Elect

Hal E. Richards, PharmD, BCNSP to Serve as BPS Immediate Past Chair


Washington, D.C. – The Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) is pleased to announce the Board of Directors officers for terms beginning January 1, 2022 and ending on December 31, 2022. 


2022 Officers

Marianne F. Ivey, PharmD, MPH, FASHP will serve as the 2022 BPS Chair

Dr. Ivey’s experience includes serving as Vice President, Pharmacy Services for the Health Alliance of Greater Cincinnati, an integrated health care system based in Cincinnati, OH. She is Professor Emerita in the Division of Pharmacy Practice and Administrative Sciences, College of Pharmacy at the University of Cincinnati. Her practice, research, and teaching expertise are in patient care delivery, automation, clinical outcomes, pharmacy resident training, leadership and pharmacy resource management in hospitals and integrated health systems. She chaired the University Hospital Total Quality Improvement Steering committee and served on the Health Alliance Six Sigma Steering Committee.


Dr. Ivey has served as President, Chairman of the House of Delegates (HOD), member of the Commission on Goals and the Commission on Credentialing and served as Treasurer of American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) and the ASHP Foundation. She received the Pharmacy Practice Award from the Federation of International Pharmaceutique (FIP) in September of 2011. She was President of the Hospital Pharmacy Section of FIP and serves on the Leadership Degree Advisory Board for the University of Cincinnati College of Pharmacy, the External Advisory Board of the University of Kentucky School of Pharmacy and the St. Louis College of Pharmacy President’s Advisory Council. Ivey has a B.S. from the University of Wisconsin and she received her Pharm.D. and M.P.H. from the University of Washington. She also completed the Wharton School’s Hospital Pharmacy Executives program. Currently, Ivey provides education and consulting in areas such as healthcare leadership and advocacy, safe medication management, post-doctoral training development and resource management and she now resides in Seattle, Washington.


“The BPS Board of Directors, Specialty Councils, and staff have laid a strong foundation for 2022 to be a continued year of growth and success. Through pharmacy specialty certification, I look forward as chair, to continue to advance patient care and support the pharmacy profession, our patients, and the health care team as a whole, and to make progress on our strategic plan.” Said Marianne Ivey, 2022 Chair of the BPS Board of Directors.


Ruth E. Nemire, PharmD, EdD, FCCP, FNAP, CRQM to Serve as 2022 BPS Chair-Elect

Dr. Nemire is the Dean of Larkin University College of Pharmacy and a graduate of Ohio Northern University and the University of Toledo Colleges of Pharmacy. She completed formal fellowship training in neurology with an emphasis in epilepsy at the University of Miami College of Medicine in Miami, Florida. Nemire completed a Doctorate in Education with a major in Higher Education Leadership at the Nova Southeastern University Fischler School of Education. She has served as a Senior Vice President of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy and was the Founding Dean of the Fairleigh Dickinson School of Pharmacy. She founded ASK Education Inc., a K-12 competency-based education Company. She serves in a leadership role for the Site Accreditation and Standards Institute, Inc. and she has served in leadership and faculty roles for Schools of Medicine and Colleges of Pharmacy across the United States.

Her passions, professional and research expertise include leading and innovating, neurology, technology platforms for education, K-12 education on health, quality management, clinical research, and improving public health. She has disseminated information from research outcomes nationally and internationally at conferences, in textbooks, peer reviewed journals and in digital media. Nemire is co-editor of the Pharmacy Student Survival Guide and her record of community service includes increasing immunization rates in underserved communities, disaster relief both nationally and internationally, and leadership in medical missions. Nemire is a Fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy and the National Academies of Practice.


“I firmly believe in the value and benefit of pharmacists certification, and I look forward to continuing my engagement as the BPS Board of Directors Chair-Elect in 2022. I’ve enjoyed the opportunities I’ve had thus far to work with BPS and I’m enthusiastic to continue the organization’s mission within my new position.” Said Ruth Nemire, 2022 Chair-Elect of the BPS Board of Directors.


Hal E. Richards, PharmD, BCNSP will serve as the 2022 BPS Immediate Past Chair

Dr. Richards serves as the Clinical Pharmacy Specialist in Critical Care Medicine at St. Joseph’s Candler Health System in Savannah, Georgia, where he has been Program Director for the PGY-2 residency in Critical Care Medicine since 2011. Richards also has a faculty appointment with The University of Georgia College of Pharmacy as Clinical Assistant Professor. He received his BS in Pharmacy degree and PharmD from The University of Georgia College of Pharmacy. He completed a PGY-2 residency in Nutrition Support/Critical Care from The University of Arizona. Dr. Richards recently finished service as Chair of the BPS Critical Care Specialty Council where he was an inaugural council member and participated in the initial role delineation study for the BPS Critical Care Specialty.


“As I leave the position as chair for the BPS Board of Directors, I feel that we will be in good hands well into the future. Marianne Ivey, who needs no introduction, will be in incoming chair for 2022, and the chair elect for 2023 will be Ruth Nemire. I have thoroughly enjoyed my time this year and want thank everyone for all the hard work that the specialty councils, the board, and BPS continue to do.” Said Hal Richards, 2022 Immediate Past Chair of the BPS Board of Directors.


For additional information on BPS Appointed Members, click here.


About the Board of Pharmacy Specialties

The Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) was established in 1976 as an autonomous division of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA). The mission of BPS is to improve patient care by positioning BPS Board-Certified Pharmacist Specialists as integral members of multidisciplinary healthcare teams, through recognition and promotion of specialized training, knowledge, and skills for pharmacists in the United States and internationally. Board certification is a recognized credential for determining which pharmacists are qualified to contribute at advanced practice levels given the rigorous standards mandated by BPS board certification and recertification. BPS currently recognizes more than 54,400 pharmacist certifications across 14 specialties.


BPS Contact
Alexander Jean-Baptiste
Senior Manager, Social Media & Content Marketing
(202) 760-3836