Share this:

Washington, D.C. – The Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) is saddened to announce the passing of former board member, Paul G. Pierpaoli. Pierpaoli served on the BPS Board of Directors from 1993 to 1998 and was Vice Chair in 1998. He passed at his home in Hilton Head, SC on December 17, 2020 after a long battle with Parkinson’s disease. Devoted to his profession for over 60 years, he served as a professor and director of pharmacy at numerous institutions, including UCONN Health Center, VCU Medical Center, and Rush University Medical Center, Chicago. He was a prolific author, served on the board of directors and was elected president of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP). He received the Harvey A.K. Whitney Award, one of the profession’s highest honors and trained over 100 residents. He was also the recipient of distinguished alumnus awards by both his alma maters, The University of Rhode Island and The University of Michigan.

More information can be found at


Our deepest sympathy and condolences to the bereaved family.


About the Board of Pharmacy Specialties

The Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) was established in 1976 as an autonomous division of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA). The mission of BPS is to improve patient care by positioning BPS Board-Certified Pharmacist Specialists as integral members of multidisciplinary healthcare teams, through recognition and promotion of specialized training, knowledge, and skills for pharmacists in the United States and internationally. Board certification is a recognized credential for determining which pharmacists are qualified to contribute at advanced practice levels given the rigorous standards mandated by BPS board certification and recertification. BPS currently recognizes more than 50,000 pharmacist certifications across 14 specialties.


BPS Contact
Alexander Jean-Baptiste
Senior Manager, Social Media & Content Marketing
(202) 760-3836