Washington, DC – The Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) announces the call for nominations for the 2021 Warren Weaver/Richard Penna Award. This award is conferred annually by the Board of Pharmacy Specialties. The Award criteria recognizes two categories of recipients, one category is for individual persons, and the second category is for patient care organizations. In each category, recipients are recognized for having made outstanding voluntary contributions to the advancement of BPS board certification of pharmacists.


A nominee for the Award must be an individual or organization who has advanced health quality and/or patient care by promoting the recognition and value of specialized training, knowledge, and skills in pharmacy and the BPS board certification of pharmacists.


Any person may nominate an individual or organization for the Warren Weaver / Richard Penna Award. Self-nominations are not accepted for the individual category. The nominator is responsible for submitting an Award nomination packet. The deadline for nomination materials is Wednesday, September 16, 2020.


The nomination packet is to include the following items:

  • Nomination form provided by BPS (click here)
  • A letter from the nominator(s) describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the Award
  • At least one but not more than three external letters of recommendation for patient care organization nominations
  • Letters of support are optional for individuals, with up to three letters accepted
  • A detailed resumé for individuals or description of the patient care organization/department/service should be included


The selection is made by the BPS Board of Directors based upon careful review of complete nominations. The Award recipients will be selected in Fall 2020.


The Award will be conferred at a meeting or venue deemed appropriate by the BPS Board of Directors based upon the affiliation of the Award recipient(s). The Award will bear the images of Warren Weaver and Richard Penna and the BPS logo inscribed with the recipient’s name and date of presentation. Travel expenses will be covered based upon current BPS travel policies as deemed appropriate by the BPS Board of Directors based upon the nature of the presentation. In addition, the BPS offices will display a perpetual plaque recognizing previous Award recipients.


About Warren Weaver and Richard Penna

Warren E. Weaver was a graduate of the University of Maryland, earning a PhD in pharmaceutical chemistry. Following graduation, he worked as a master chemist for the U.S. Navy during World War II.


In 1950, Weaver was hired as associate professor in the Medical College of Virginia (MCV) School of Pharmacy and 6 years later he became the fifth dean of the school. Weaver was a founding trustee of the Virginia Pharmacists Association Foundation and, on the national level, he served as 1968-69 president of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP).


In 1973, Weaver was appointed by the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) to the Taskforce on Specialties in Pharmacy, which led to the establishment of the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties—now the Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS). Weaver went on to serve BPS from 1975 to 1981 and was elected the first chairman, serving in that role from 1976 to 1979.  Weaver passed away in July 2014 at the age of 93.


Richard (Dick) P. Penna received his BS and PharmD degrees from the University of California, San Francisco School of Pharmacy. During his tenure at the APhA, Penna advocated for pharmacist patient counseling. Penna was a co-developer of APhA’s Handbook of Nonprescription Drugs and he encouraged pharmacist involvement with patients.


Penna served as the APhA staff member assigned to the Taskforce on Specialties in Pharmacy in 1973, and he went on to assume responsibility as the first secretary/executive director of BPS in 1975. In 1985, Penna joined the AACP as associate executive director and was named executive vice president and chief executive officer in 1995.


For more than two decades, Penna’s vision was evident in reshaping pharmacy education. Penna received the prestigious APhA Remington Honor Medal in 2002, recognizing his distinguished service to the profession of pharmacy. Penna passed away in August 2011 at the age of 75.


William Ellis, BPS Executive Director commented, “The establishment of this award honors the visionary work accomplished by the first BPS Chairman, Warren Weaver and the organization’s first staff member, Richard Penna. The award will also recognize the current efforts of individuals and organizations to improve patient care by promoting the recognition and value of specialized training, knowledge, and skills in pharmacy and specialty board certification of pharmacists.”


The recipient of the 2020 Warren Weaver / Richard Penna Award in the Organization Category was the Alaska Native Medical Center Pharmacy Department. The recipient of the 2019 Warren Weaver / Richard Penna Award in the Individual Category was Brian L. Erstad, PharmD, MCCM, FCCP, FASHP, BCPS.


Reference: https://www.bpsweb.org/2020/01/31/alaska-native-medical-center-pharmacy-department-brian-erstad-named-2020-recipients-of-warren-e-weaver-richard-p-penna-awards/


The application period for the 2021 Award is now open and will close on September 16, 2019. To submit a nomination click here.


About the Board of Pharmacy Specialties

The Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) was established in 1976 as an autonomous division of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA). The mission of BPS is to improve patient care by positioning BPS Board-Certified Pharmacist Specialists as integral members of multidisciplinary healthcare teams, through recognition and promotion of specialized training, knowledge, and skills for pharmacists in the United States and internationally. Board certification is a recognized credential for determining which pharmacists are qualified to contribute at advanced practice levels given the rigorous standards mandated by BPS board certification and recertification. BPS currently recognizes more than 46,000 active pharmacist certifications in 12 specialties.


BPS Media Contact
Alexander Jean-Baptiste
Senior Manager, Social Media & Content Marketing 
(202) 760-3836