Washington, D.C. – It is with deep sadness that the Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) announces the passing of Dr. Stanley M. Shaw, PhD on October 26, 2019. Dr. Shaw was a pioneer in the field of nuclear pharmacy, an educator, and an advocate for nuclear pharmacy’s becoming the first recognized specialty in pharmacy.


His obituary and summary of services are available here: https://www.legacy.com/obituaries/jconline/obituary.aspx?n=stanley-m-shaw&pid=194295009


Dr. Shaw was the Professor Emeritus, Nuclear Pharmacy, at the Purdue University College of Pharmacy. Dr Shaw received his BS and MS degrees in Pharmacy from South Dakota State University. He went on to earn his PhD from Purdue University in bionucleonics with a minor in pharmacy in 1962 and subsequently joined the faculty. Dr. Shaw has made major contributions to nuclear pharmacy education, research, and professional practice over his fifty-year career.


Some of Dr. Shaw’s many professional contributions to nuclear pharmacy and board certification are listed below:

  • Fostered the growth of nuclear pharmacy through his “Nuclear Pharmacist’s Newsletter.”
  • Co-Organized and led the first formal gathering of nuclear pharmacists at a session entitled Nuclear Pharmacy ‘74’ held at the 1974 APhA Meeting in Chicago.
  • Led in the creation of a petition requesting the establishment of a Section on Nuclear Pharmacy which was approved by the APhA Board of Trustees in 1975.
  • Contributed to the establishment of the Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) as an autonomous division of APhA in 1976 to increase awareness of the need for Board Certified Pharmacists to improve patient care.
  • Actively involved in the development of guidelines in 1978 that described responsibilities of the nuclear pharmacist which became the first “Nuclear Pharmacy Practice Guidelines” that continue to serve as the basis for Board certification exam development.
  • Provided leadership in the development of the petition requesting formal recognition of nuclear pharmacy as a specialty by BPS which was approved in 1978.
  • Engaged nuclear pharmacy experts and worked as a member of the first Nuclear Pharmacy Specialty Council to create the first examination for Board Certification in Nuclear Pharmacy (BCNP).
  • Named the first recipient of the Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) Warren E. Weaver/Richard P. Penna Award in 2017.


Our deepest sympathy and condolences to the bereaved family.


Related Links: 

Stanley M. Shaw, PhD Named First Recipient of the Warren E. Weaver/Richard P. Penna Award

BPS Interview with Dr. Stanley M. Shaw, PhD


About the Board of Pharmacy Specialties

The Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) was established in 1976 as an autonomous division of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA). The mission of BPS is to improve patient care by positioning BPS Board-Certified Pharmacist Specialists as integral members of multidisciplinary healthcare teams, through recognition and promotion of specialized training, knowledge, and skills for pharmacists in the United States and internationally. Board certification is a recognized credential for determining which pharmacists are qualified to contribute at advanced practice levels given the rigorous standards mandated by BPS board certification and recertification. BPS currently recognizes more than 42,000 pharmacist certifications across 11 specialties.


BPS Contact
Alexander Jean-Baptiste
Social Media & Content Marketing Manager
(202) 760-3836