Washington, DC – The Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) has announced that Stanley M. Shaw, PhD has been named the first recipient of the Warren E. Weaver/Richard P. Penna Award.

Dr. Shaw is currently Professor Emeritus, Nuclear Pharmacy, at the Purdue University College of Pharmacy. Dr Shaw received his BS and MS degrees in Pharmacy from South Dakota State University. He went on to earn his PhD from Purdue University in bionucleonics with a minor in pharmacy in 1962 and subsequently joined the faculty. Dr. Shaw has made major contributions to nuclear pharmacy education, research, and professional practice over his fifty year career. Some of Dr. Shaw’s many professional contributions to nuclear pharmacy and board certification are listed below:

  • Fostered the growth of nuclear pharmacy through his “Nuclear Pharmacist’s Newsletter.”
  • Co-Organized and led the first formal gathering of nuclear pharmacists at a session entitled Nuclear Pharmacy ‘74’ held at the 1974 APhA Meeting in Chicago.
  • Led in the creation of a petition requesting the establishment of a Section on Nuclear Pharmacy which was approved by the APhA Board of Trustees in 1975.
  • Contributed to the establishment of the Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) as an autonomous division of APhA in 1976 to increase awareness of the need for Board Certified Pharmacists to improve patient care.
  • Actively involved in the development of guidelines in 1978 that described responsibilities of the nuclear pharmacist which became the first “Nuclear Pharmacy Practice Guidelines” that continue to serve as the basis for Board certification exam development.
  • Provided leadership in the development of the petition requesting formal recognition of nuclear pharmacy as a specialty by BPS which was approved in 1978.
  • Engaged nuclear pharmacy experts and worked as a member of the first Nuclear Pharmacy Specialty Council to create the first examination for Board Certification in Nuclear Pharmacy (BCNP).

Nominator, Kara D. Weatherman, PharmD, BCNP, Clinical Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice at Purdue University noted; “Dr. Shaw was one of the early proponents for recognizing specialty areas of practice, not only for nuclear pharmacy, but for other areas of practice as well.” Sam C. Augustine, RPh, PharmD, FAPhA, Professor, Pharmacy Practice at Creighton University added to that sentiment stating, “[Dr. Shaw’s] volunteer efforts (to recognize nuclear pharmacy as a specialty) formed the initial blueprint…that others followed.”

George H. Hinkle, RPh, MS, BCNP, FASHP, FAPhA, Emeritus Professor at The Ohio State University stated the following in his letter of support:

“Dr. Shaw served as a crucial agent in the establishment of Board Certification through BPS…..all should recognize Dr. Shaw as a pharmacy leader who was an early advocate of the value of specialized training, knowledge and skills in pharmacy practice and acknowledgment of the pharmacy practitioners who achieved this advanced level of practice.”

Finally, Neil A. Petry, MS, RPh, BCNP, FAPhA, Associate Professor of Radiology at Duke University Medical Center added; “Dr. Shaw continues to identify and encourage future leaders to develop their leadership roles within the profession, in their practices and most importantly to seek and maintain BPS certification.”

Dr. Shaw has received numerous awards throughout his career. He was named in the very first class of Fellows of the American Pharmacists Association and his other awards and honors include the Distinguished Pharmacy Educator from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy in 1994; he was also named a Fellow of the American Society of Hospital Pharmacy that same year. He received Purdue University’s Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award in Memory of Charles B. Murphy in 1995, the APhA-APPM Distinguished Achievement Award in Nuclear Pharmacy Practice in 1998 and the APhA’s Daniel B. Smith Practice Excellence Award in 2000. He has also been named as APhA Honorary President for 2018.

About the Warren E. Weaver/Richard P. Penna Award
BPS announced the establishment of the Warren E. Weaver/Richard P. Penna Award as part of the BPS 40th Anniversary celebration. The award recipient must be an individual or organization who has advanced health quality and/or patient care by promoting the recognition and value of specialized training, knowledge, and skills in pharmacy and the BPS board certification of pharmacists.

The award will be conferred at a meeting or venue deemed appropriate by the BPS Board of Directors based upon the affiliation of the award recipient. The award will bear the images of Warren Weaver and Richard Penna and the BPS logo inscribed with the recipient’s name and date of presentation. In addition, the BPS offices will display a perpetual plaque recognizing previous award recipients.

The award honors Warren E. Weaver who was the first Chair of the Board of Pharmacy Specialties. Weaver was a founding trustee of the Virginia Pharmacists Association Foundation and, on the national level, he served as 1968-69 president of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP).

In 1973, Weaver was appointed by the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) to the Taskforce on Specialties in Pharmacy, which led to the establishment of the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties—now the Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS). Weaver went on to serve BPS from 1975 to 1981 and was elected the first chairman, serving in that role from 1976 to 1979. Weaver passed away in July 2014 at the age of 93.

The award also honors Richard (Dick) P. Penna who joined the staff at the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) in 1966. Among his many professional accomplishments, he was a co-developer of APhA’s Handbook of Nonprescription Drugs and was an advocate for pharmacist patient counseling and clinical activities. Penna served as the APhA staff member assigned to the Taskforce on Specialties in Pharmacy in 1973, and he went on to assume responsibility as the first secretary/executive director of BPS in 1975.

In 1985, Penna joined American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy as associate executive director and was named executive vice president and chief executive officer in 1995. The prestigious APhA Remington Honor Medal was presented to Penna in 2002, recognizing his distinguished service to the profession of pharmacy. Penna passed away in August 2011 at the age of 75.


About The Board of Pharmacy Specialties ®
The Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) was established in 1976 as an autonomous division of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA). The mission of the Board of Pharmacy Specialties is to improve patient care and increase awareness of the need for BPS Board Certified Pharmacists as integral members of multidisciplinary healthcare teams through recognition and promotion of specialized training, knowledge, and skills in pharmacy and specialty board certification and recertification of pharmacists throughout the world.

Board Certification through BPS has become recognized as the gold standard for determining which pharmacists are qualified to contribute at advanced practice levels as a result of the rigorous standards mandated by BPS board certification and recertification. Today over 30,000 pharmacists worldwide hold BPS certification.