Press Release PDF


December 14, 2016                                                                     

Board of Pharmacy Specialties Announces 2017 Officers and New Board Members

Harold N. Godwin, RPh, MS, to  Serve as 2017 BPS Chair

Washington, D.C. – The Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS), is pleased to announce their officers and new Board members for 2017.

2017 Officers

Harold N. Godwin, RPh, MS will serve as the 2017 Chair of the Board of Pharmacy Specialties. Harold Godwin is Professor Emeritus at the University of Kansas School of Pharmacy where he recently retired as the Associate Dean for Medical Affairs and Professor. at the University of Kansas, School of Pharmacy. Godwin served 34 years as director of pharmacy at the KU Medical Center and 20 years as chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice. He earned a B.S. in Pharmacy from the University of Kansas, School of Pharmacy, M.S. in Hospital Pharmacy from The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy, and completed a two-year residency in pharmacy administration at The Ohio State University Hospitals. He has been involved in pharmacy organizations throughout his career and has served as president of the Kansas Pharmacists Association, president of the American Society of Health System Pharmacists (ASHP), president of Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), and president of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA).

Andrea Iannucci, PharmD, BCOP, will serve as the 2017 BPS Chair-elect and will assume the BPS Chairmanship in 2018. Dr. Iannucci is currently an oncology clinical pharmacy specialist at the University of California, Davis Medical Center and a Clinical Professor with the UCSF School of Pharmacy and UCDMC School of Medicine. She is the Director of the PGY2 Oncology Specialty Residency at UCDMC and Assistant Chief Pharmacist overseeing Oncology and Investigational Drugs Services.  Andrea completed her Doctor of Pharmacy degree at the University of California in San Francisco. She completed her Pharmacy Practice Residency at UCSF, and an Oncology Pharmacy Specialty Residency at MD Anderson Cancer Center. She has served as an appointed member and chair of the Oncology Specialty Council of the Board of Pharmacy Specialties.

William E. Evans, PharmD, will serve as the Immediate Past Chair of the Board of Pharmacy Specialties in 2017. Dr. Evans is a faculty member at St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital and served as President and CEO from 2004-until 2014. His practice and research is focused on the pharmacogenomics of anticancer agents in children, for which he has received three consecutive NIH MERIT Awards. Dr. Evans has authored over 400 articles and has received several national awards, including the 2009 ASCO Pediatric Oncology Award (shared with Mary V. Relling), the 2009 AACR Team Science Prize (shared with SJCRH colleagues), the 2012 APhA Remington Honor Medal and the 2013 ASCPT Hunter Award. During his tenure as CEO, St. Jude was ranked #1 children’s cancer hospital by Parents Magazine and US News and World Report, and listed by FORTUNE magazine among the top 100 companies to work for in the US. St. Jude is the only NCI-designated comprehensive cancer center devoted solely to children.

New Board Members

Charles A. Vacchiano, PhD, CRNA, FAAN was appointed to the BPS Board of Directors as the Non-Pharmacist Health Professional Member for a three-year term beginning January 1, 2017. Dr. Vacchiano joined the faculty at the Duke School of Nursing in 2008 where he currently serves as Professor, School of Nursing and as an Associate Professor of Anesthesiology with the School of Medicine. He earned a BSN at Wright State University (OH) in 1979, a Bachelor of Science in Anesthesia from George Washington University in 1984, and a PhD in Physiology from the Medical University of South Carolina in 1995. He spent 26 years in the U.S. Navy as a practicing nurse anesthetist, educator, and researcher. During this time, he provided anesthesia care at stateside and overseas hospitals and aboard naval combat vessels, taught and performed clinical research in the Navy Nurse Corps Anesthesia Program, and was the Director of Biomedical Sciences Division at the Naval Aerospace Medical Research Laboratory. Following his retirement from the U.S. Navy, Dr. Vacchiano served as the Director of the Gooding Institute, Bay Medical Center Nurse Anesthesia Program. He has published in multiple journals (including American Journal of Physiology, Cardiovascular Research, Shock, and the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists Journal) and serves as a reviewer for several agencies and journals. He has been the elected President of the Board of Directors for the National Board for Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists (NBCRNA), and a member of the NBCRNA task force developing recommendations for new CRNA recertification requirements. Dr. Vacchiano is the author of a chapter on regional anesthesia in the only anesthesia textbook written by nurse anesthetists. He was named the American Association of Nurse Anesthetist Researcher of the Year in 2007.


Additional Board Members

Karen M. Gunning, PharmD, BCPS, BCACP, FCCP

University of Utah College of Pharmacy and School of Medicine

Salt Lake City, UT

Peter G. Koval, PharmD, BCPS, CPP

UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy

Chapel Hill, NC


Terry McInnis, MD, MPH, CPE, FACOEM

Blue Thorn Inc.

Cary, NC


Jerry McKee PharmD, MS, BCPP

Community Care of North Carolina

Raleigh, NC


Rebecca S. Miller, MS

Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education

Chicago, IL


John A. Pieper, PharmD, FCCP. FAPhA

St. Louis College of Pharmacy

St. Louis, MO


James A. Ponto, MS, RPh, BCNP

University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics

Iowa City, IA


Ex-Officio/ Non-Voting Members

Dennis K. Helling, PharmD, ScD (Hon), FCCP, FASHP, FAPhA

University of Colorado

Aurora, CO


William M. Ellis, RPh, MS

Executive Director of the Board of Pharmacy Specialties


About the Board of Pharmacy Specialties

The Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) was established in 1976 as an autonomous division of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA).  The mission of the Board of Pharmacy Specialties is to improve patient care and increase awareness of the need for BPS Board Certified Pharmacists as integral members of multidisciplinary healthcare teams through recognition and promotion of specialized training, knowledge, and skills in pharmacy and specialty board certification and recertification of pharmacists throughout the world.

Board Certification through BPS has become recognized as the gold standard for determining which pharmacists are qualified to contribute at advanced practice levels. Through the rigorous standards mandated by BPS board certification and recertification, the BPS board certified pharmacist stands out as the most qualified to accept today’s expanding professional expectations.  Currently over 28,000 pharmacists hold BPS Board Certification.



BPS CONTACT                                            

Steve Scarlata

(202) 448-8721

2215 Constitution Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20037